40 BEST PERFORMANCES FROM AMERICAN IDOL SEASON 13!

Untitled-1

Finally, season 13 has officially ended. A season full of hate comments from everyone. The fan of the show, I can understand why are they so upset. These two seasons have been so shitty, but still, I prefer Season 13 than Season 12 which for me the worst ever. The main problem is, they are changing too many things. Rush Week, I don’t think It was that necessary. Why don’t they just follow the old format then we would have a better Top 13 contestants. Imagine the Top 13; Austin Wolfe, Kenzie Hall, Brandy Neelly, Jena Irene, Jess Meuse, Malaya Watson, Briana Oakley, Alex Preston, Caleb Johnson, Malcolm Allen, Sam Woolf, Casey Thrasher and Ben Briley? It would have been a MUCH better TOP 13 to me. And there are lots of unexplained things happening this season, like, where’s Megan Miller? When did the cradle kid went home? Where was Paula Hunt? Where is everybody? The judges were cutting talented people in the way, probably more talented then let’s say MK Nobilette, Dexter Roberts, CJ harris, Kristen O’Connor. I wish next season they would just go back to the Old Format. We all know why Season 10 & 11 were so good because they cast winners, they use the old formats and they’re telling the stories too! Eventhough It’s sucha  boring season, and I’m not a fan of Caleb, I am a fan of Jena! YES! JENA! It’s still a hard job to narrow down to Best 30. So I have to expand it to TOP 40. Which still a hard thing to do for me. So here it is:

Honorable Mentions (in this case almost made it to the list); Emily Piriz‘s Glitter In The Air, Kristen O Connor‘s Turning Tables, Jena Irene‘s Clarity, Jena Irene‘s The Scientist, Jess Meuse‘s Jolene, Sam Woolf’s Babylon, Alex Preston‘s Stay, Alex Preston‘s Say Something, Alex Preston‘s Always On My Mind and Majesty Rose‘s Fix You.

40. ALEX PRESTON – POMPEII BY BASTILLE

It might surprise everyone to put this performance on a list. Becuase, It wasn’t perfect at all, It wasn’t even near to. But, what I love for the first time Alex let go. Poin added for playing the drum in the middle of the performance, and he let go and stopped playing his guitar in this performance. It was such an enjoyable performance. It was fun to watch!

39. MALAYA WATSON – AIN’T NO WAY BY ARETHA FRANKLIN

First, I thought that Malaya didn’t have enough connection to the song, this song has a mature quality that needed emotion and feeling in order to suceed in singing this song. But, Malaya just pulled it off. She has the ability to sing high notes like crazy, and she proved it again this time. It was a great performance. To remind us why she made it to the Hollywood Round on the first place.

38. JESS MEUSE – PUMPED UP KICKS BY FOSTER THE PEOPLE

It might not be perfect, I don’t care If Jessica smile throughout the entire performance. What I spot on this performance is she’s having fun! She’s letting go. She’s chilling up there in the stage. ANd that’s more than enough. It’s like she’s singing in the bar and she’s not letting us go because we’re so captivated by the performance. With that gorgeous tone, I could here her sing 24/7

37. JESS MEUSE – SOMEBODY TO LOVE BY JEFFERSON AIRPLANE

It wasn’t my favorite performance at the beginning, but this performance grew on me. She’s moving while performing, and I thought the judges would love that, but still It wasn’t enough for them. I don’t know what this girl need to do. Jessica sang the heck out of the song. There’s an anger, emotion and feeling in this performance that light this performance. Some might prefer “Jolene”, but I think that this is much much better than “Jolene”. Such an underrated performance.

36. JESS MEUSE – WHITE FLAG BY DIDO

Clearly not everyone’s favorite. Not even the judges. This was during “Home” theme, when all of the performances seems so boring to me, this is so captivating. Jessica has that nasal quality in her voice that might annoy everyone, but for me, that’s her speciality. She’s singing so nasally in this performance that made me love her and the performance even more. With her signature, with that hand thing she’s doing at the end of her performances, It’s so cute.

35. CALEB JOHNSON – STING ME BY THE BLACK CROWES

I know that Caleb always sounded the same in every performances, but let’s all admit that this one is a crazy performance! The end, that was epic. He dropped the mic, and the show must go on, he continued it like a pro. Just go back like nothing else happened. It was an insane performance. Caleb just let go everytime he’s on stage.

34. SAM WOOLF – WE ARE YOUNG BY FUN

I remember that this was a comeback performance from Sam that everyone been waiting for. Eventhough it lack the feeling, but Sam is having fun up there. I could here him on the radio after I watch this performance. He’s so current and this song fits his vocal so much that It gave me some kind of glimpses of what kind of music he’ll be making in his future career.

33. CALEB JOHNSON – STILL OF THE NIGHT BY WHITESNAKE

Another crazy performance from Caleb! All the rock thing just came together into one. All the craziness that you’ve been searchign and waiting for, you can find it in this performance. Caleb woke the crowd up, he cheered the crowd, he definitely know what’s he’s doing up there. He’s a real entertainer.

32. MALAYA WATSON – TAKE ME TO THE KING BY TAMELA MANN

It started a little bit shaky, but at the end, It was amazing. Got me teary-eyed. This was Malaya’s comeback performance. I honestly thought that If she’s not performing well, she’s gonna be leaving the show that week. They save the best for the last, Malaya came from no where just slayed this with her beautiful vocal and crazy range. She sang it with so much feeling! That’s what make the performance so touching.

31. JESS MEUSE – HUMAN BY CHRISTINA PERRI

I will never choose this song for Jessica, because I honestly thought that the song not gonna fit her. But, surprisingly, this performance fits her. In some performances, her eyes seems so off and dead, but on this one, I can see something in her eyes. Feelings and emotions every single time she’s up there are always checked. Jessica just gave one of the most touching performance and one of the most shocking performance from her so far. It was unbelieveable that she’s singing a Chrstina Perri song.

30. ALEX PRESTON – YELLOW BY COLDPLAY

Always loving an unexpected performance. When you’re expecting nothing and then suddenly that performance just gave you everything that you didn’t thought you’d feel before. This is one of it. Alex sang it on his own way, making this song into his own. His own arrangement. So that It’s full of Alex in this performance. It was so relaxing.

29. MALAYA WATSON – I AM CHANGING BY JENNIFER HUDSON

Not everyone really love this performance, because they’re comparing it to Jennifer Hudson’s. Thank God I have never heard the song right until Malaya sang it on Idol. It added the surprise meter to me. I’m watching her like a proud dad, Malaya is blossoming. She’s blossomed and she’s growing on that stage. It’s like watching your Idol having his/her first concert, that is how proud I am. Big notes, making the performance much better.

28. MK NOBILETTE – ALL OF ME BY JOHN LEGEND

I knew since the beginning when MK is gonna be singing the song that It’s gonna be so touching. And It is. I almost cried watching this. Not only because her mom was so enthusiastic and so happy that she went though, also the way she’s singing it, with all the simplicity, and her backstory, It’s mixing with the performance, It blends so well. It’s like she’s singing this to a special one.

27. SAM WOOLF – IT’S TIME BY IMAGINE DRAGONS

Sam’s best performance! To me, this is the performance that I’ve been wanting coming out from Sam’s mouth. He has a gorgeous tone, but his performance never really satisfy me. This one shocked me. THere’s an anger in this performance. Especially at the end, there’s a feelign and emotion and I can see something in his eye. “I’m not changing who I am” might be one of the best lines. And I love the fact that he’s not singing the same version as the original version, making it his own. Great performance from Sam!

26. JENA IRENE – MY BODY BY YOUNG THE GIANT

This is the performance from Jena that can open everyone’s eyes that she’s current and you can here her in the radio right now. It’s so powerful, so young and so energetic. She’s moving around. Thankyou Jena for not hearing what Randy adviced you to do. Jena’s smart enough to do what she needs to do. With powerful vocal, and stage presence, she has given one of the most enjoyable and relaxing performance I’ve seen on Idol.

25. CALEB JOHNSON – UNDO IT BY CARRIE UNDERWOOD

Caleb and Carrie? Who ever thought this would be mixed so well? I predicted at the beginning that the “Country” theme is not gonna work for Caleb, but Caleb came out of nowhere just killed it! He changed the song into more of a rock version of the song, which is good. Made it his own. I know that Carrie is smiling at home watching this.

24. JENA IRENE – BARRACUDA BY THE HEART

Great vocal, singing so effortless. And moving around the stage like she just bought the stage, and the stage is hers until the rest of her life. Great moments when she’s singing with the back up vocalist, and at the end, It was another high notes that Jena could reach just like that.

23. CALEB JOHNSON – MAYBE I’M AMAZED BY PAUL MCCARTNEY

This was his second ballad performance (correct me If I’m wrong), but I’m loving Caleb when he’s singing ballad. I want him to just stop being so loud for a second and just sang tenderly, softly, but, he never really do that, so ballad is enough for me. Still, It was a bit rock-y, but at the end, “Maybe I’m Amazed” has never been sung this great on a reality competition.

22. CALEB JOHNSON – PRESSURE AND TIME BY RIVAL SONS

This is the first time ever that I thought he’s our front-runner. It’s so easy to see that in Caleb’s performance because this is the only performance that made the judges so shocked, I don’t know why. I kinda felt the same way.

21. ALEX PRESTON – STORY OF MY LIFE BY ONE DIRECTION

When I heard Alex is about to sing a One Direction song, I knew that the song will suit him so much. He knows how to take a song and make it his own. It’s a hard thing to do and not many contestant could do it. It’s an easy thing for Alex to do.

20. JESS MEUSE – SUMMERTIME SADNESS BY LANA DEL REY

Jess started the performance in a more sexy way, legs for days, showing her tattooes. To me, she’s performing so well. When she’s letting go, this kind of performance will come up. Kudos to her to sing this song and sang it really well. She even sang it better vocally than Lana Del Rey. Hot!

19. JENA IRENE – HEARTBREAKER BY PAT BENATAR

This is not so different from Pat Benatar’s version. But Jena still slayed it. The hightlight was right there at the end when she’s reaching that big high note. Jena is moving around, owning the stage, interracting with the crowd, moving around so relax and singing so effortlessly, what else can we expect her to do?

18. MAJESTY ROSE – HAPPY BY PHARELL

Ah! She got us moving, she got us dancing, she got us clapping with her! We’re in a Majesty Rose concert right now! Little body bringing a guitar that is almost as big as her body. She put away her guitar and just sang with the crowd, clapping and moving around. Her beautiful unique voice soars. She’s hitting a great high note. I miss Majesty, I wish she would’ve stayed longer.

17. JENA IRENE – CAN’T HELP FALLING IN LOVE (REPRISE) BY ELVIS PRESLEY

Not a fan of reprising. I’m just scared that Jena couldn’t gave all the greatness in the previous version of the song. But she did it. It was even more controlled. More softly done. The notes were all still perfectly hit. This is Jena doing her best job.

16. MALAYA WATSON – WHEN I WAS YOUR MAN BY BRUNO MARS

I wished that this was placed higher on the list. But this is the highest place Malaya can be. Malaya is on a growth arc during this performance. When sometimes she couldn’t get it together and she’s so uncontrolled. She’s so much better on this one. She’s hitting the notes so perfectly and vocally consistent. It was a great performance from Malaya, and knowing that she’s now a much better singer than before.

15. JESS MEUSE – YOU AND I BY LADY GAGA

Another shocking one. I never thought that Jess and Gaga would blend so well. But Jess sang the song into a more country version of the song. It gave me chills! At the end, she put her own twist and her own version into the song that made the performance so Jessica. And it’s such a travesty that she went home on one of her best performances.

14. JENA IRENE – UNBREAKABLE ME BY JENA IRENE

Jena sang this on her wildcard performance, making it so easy for the judges to put her through. It seems like she’s not even competing in the Wildcard Round, because no one even came close. Jena definitely slayed it! This might be one of the best originals we’ve heard in the past couple of years! A song that anyone would love to download. Great song, great vocal.

13. CALEB JOHNSON – DREAM ON BY AEROSMITH

Without any doubt the best performance in the Finale. Caleb sang this so effortlessly, It’s like he’s not even trying! That’s how crazy. The two thirds of the performances gave me chills. When he’s throwing the stand and acting crazy, that is when we’re all in the Caleb’s concert. He’s doing the rock thing that he has never done before. Something new, that is right.

12. ALEX PRESTON – FAIRYTALES BY ALEX PRESTON

Why are these people creating great songs? “Unbreakable Me”, “Blue Eyed Lie” and now “Fairytales”? I’m so amazed by their ability to create such great rhytm to the song. I heard some things that I have never heard from Alex’s performances before. There’s a growl in it! Ah! It satisfied me so much. I’m listening this song and replaying over and over.

11. CALEB JOHNSON – DAZZED AND CONFUSED BY LED ZEPPELIN

I love the lightning! When you’re watching this performance, you’re in a Caleb concert. He got JLo moving so crazy and gave him a standing ovation. He moved the crowd. The crowd were all crazy for him. All of his craziness were all paid off at the end because he reprised it again, and people still remember and love this performance as one of Caleb’s best. Dazzed, indeed.

10. JENA IRENE – BRING ME TO LIFE BY EVANESCENE

So much comparions to Angie Miller! To me, Angie Miller’s version not even came close. I think that Angie sang it way too low, Jena’s key is the right key for her to sing, Jena slayed this. Jena has a big voice that suits the song so much. Giving so many moments to the song. She knows how to work with the band without giving awkward moments. She’s collaborating so well with the band. And It’s blending so well. This was the week that I called her as “Dark Horse”.

9. JESS MEUSE – BLUE EYED LIE BY JESSICA MEUSE

I am so excited when Jess is singing her original, because I think she’s gonna do great and the judges would stop for a minute to criticize her. And guess what? They’ll never stop. Never have. Never will. This is so frustrating. Jess has the anger and one of the best lyrics original song has ever done on the show! She did move. She did let loose. I think that this is enough. Her vocal is so good, I think she felt this so much because this was her song and she knew that she has to nail her original song.

8. JENA IRENE – CREEP (REPRISE) BY RADIOHEAD

When I heard that Jena is going to reprise this performance, In my head, “What is she going to do differently for this performance to make it not just the same copy-paste performance?” And she put a little bit rock edge into the performance. And this time, you could hear the band more than the other version that Jena’s singing. Arrangement-wise, this is much more refreshing, but I feel the old version much more.

7. ALEX PRESTON – A BEAUTIFUL MESS BY JASON MRAZ

Alex and Jason Mraz, they’re both kinda similiar. But I rarely ever heard a Jason Mraz song done on the show. Alex done is so beautifully. He’s captivating. And he gave us a perfect example of what kind of artist Alex will be in the future. And that falsetto!

6. CALEB JOHNSON – SKYFALL BY ADELE

Caleb took a risk by singing an Adele song. There are lots of choices and options to sing for soundtracks, but he picked Adele instead? And do it so well. I love that he didn’t fully changed it. And you could still feel the Adele in this performance. It was a perfect ending.

5. JESS MEUSE – CROW AND THE BUTTERFLY BY SHINEDOWN

Why is everyone forgetting this one? Are you people insane? This is the first time I really really voted for Jess on the show. I know that Jess is capable of doing more and loose a bit in this performance, It would’ve been higher on the list.

4. ALEX PRESTON – FALLING SLOWLY

Can you believe that I got teary eyed, and I almost cried. My tears were at the edge of my eyes, Uh! Everything that Ive needed in life is in this performance. It’s so sweet. The performance is so touching. He delivered a great version that will absolutely touched everyone.

3. JENA IRENE – CAN’T HELP FALLING IN LOVE BY ELVIS PRESLEY

Jena and Elvis, hm. I once thought that It was gonna be another karaoke version of the song. This song is so well known that It’s a big deal when you’re singing it badly. Again, when you’re expecting nothing, It shocked you to death. This was a great performance, touching performance. She didn’t missed a note in this performance. Again, all of these three performances are Jena with her piano. So, Don’t stop singing with your piano, Jena!

2. JENA IRENE – DECODE BY PARAMORE

This was the first time ever that I think Jena might have a legitimate chance of winning the show. If she consistently doing what she’s doing on this performance. The first time since WildCard Round that Jena brought back her piano on stage. I wanna put this performance on the first place so badly, because this is the best performance of the season too! But, I ended up putting “Creep” up there because “Creep” really shocked me to death.

1. JENA IRENE – CREEP BY PARAMORE

Best performance of the season? Can someone even argue on this one? I want to shook Harry so bad and ask him to stand for Jena for the best performance of the season. Jena hit that high notes that I never thought It was possible for someone to reach it. With the piano, she can do everything. Jena just gave one of the most overwhelming performance I’ve seen!

Leave a Reply

